What chapter are you one?

Chapter One
I walk down the street.
There’s a deep hole in the sidewalk.
I fall in.
I’m lost. I’m helpless.
It isn’t my fault.
It takes me forever to find a way out.

Chapter 2
I walk down the same street.
There’s a deep hole in the sidewalk.
I pretend I don’t see it.
I fall in again.
I can’t believe I’m in the same place.
But it isn’t my fault.
It still takes a long time to get out.

Chapter 3
I walk down the same street.
There’s a deep hole in the sidewalk.
I see it there.
I still fall in. It’s a habit.
My eyes are open.
I know where I am.
It is my fault.
I get out immediately.

Chapter 4
I walk down the same street.
There’s a deep hole in the sidewalk.
I walk around it.

Chapter 5
I walk down another street.

Being in your fitness journey, career, or personal relationships, this is very common. Yet, we can all learn to take a different street.

Which chapter are you on?

 
From: Sogyal Rinpoche, The Tibetan Book of Living and Dying

2 Comments

  1. I posted this a long time ago – I still love reading it every time! :) I am constantly learning & always a work in progress!

    • I love it too Jody. It really makes you think.

      Connected by DROID on Verizon Wireless

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 127 other followers

