You Want Me To Take What?

My T3, T4, TSG, and Biotin levels came back normal…whatever that is?  That’s good news I guess.  I’m a hormonal mess for other reasons.  I plan on curing myself and i’m feeling better so I think i’m stepping in the right direction.  My Dr. did give me a prescription for Provera to start my period back up.

Provera

All medicines may cause side effects, but many people have no, or minor, side effects. Check with your doctor if any of these most COMMON side effects persist or become bothersome when using Provera:

Acne; changes in menstrual flow, including breakthrough bleeding, spotting, or missed periods; dizziness; drowsiness; fever; headache; hot flashes; nausea; nervousness; pain; rash; sleeplessness; stomach pain; weakness; weight gain or loss.

Seek medical attention right away if any of these SEVERE side effects occur when using Provera:

Severe allergic reactions (rash; hives; itching; difficulty breathing; tightness in the chest; swelling of the mouth, face, lips, or tongue); chest pain; depression; lumps in the breast or under the armpits; partial or complete loss of vision or changes in vision; shortness of breath; slurred speech; sudden loss of coordination; sudden or severe headache; swelling of fingers or ankles; tenderness, pain, or swelling of the calf; weakness, numbness, or pain in the arms or legs; yellowing of the skin or eyes.

Would you take it?

 

11 Comments

  1. Well to be honest..I HAD to take it because she was worried since i hadn’t menstrated in 5 months. I STILL can’t menstrate without my Yaz pill:( It took me two round of Provera to get anything started and it was minimal….much better now.

    Given the alternative..possibility for cervical cancer..Provera was the way to go for me. I had no bad side effects either…,

    Just do what is best for you girl.

    B

  2. Wow that looks a little scary! Personally, I haven’t had a period in over a year (sorry if that’s TMI) the docs put me on Yaz, which boasts a shorter, lighter period, add that with excessive exercise and Aunt Flow has ceased to exist. The docs all think this is perfectly ok too…

    I’m not saying yay or nay but I would do some serious research on this before taking it! Can you do with out your period? I might just forgo it rather than chance some of those side effects… but that’s just me. Do what you feel is best for you! Good luck!

  3. P.S. I gave you an award on my blog should you choose to accept it! 🙂

  4. Wow. Well you gotta do what you gotta do; but isn’t there a little more natural way to get your body back in the swing of things? Like getting on the pill to regulate yourself? I know the pill is not NATURAL per se, but it does seem less extreme and also prevents baby Jones’ from occuring…Boomer does not want a sibling!

    I know it’s not ‘natural’ to have no period, but if your body wants to do what it wants to do, perhaps regulating it isn’t necessary? If you are healthy otherwise, why do you need to have one? Everyone’s body is different right? If your hormone levels are ok….oh Idk, enough with my rhetorical questions…I know little of this…I am no doctor so I will just shut up now I guess. Do what you need to do…whatever makes you feel good and gets you healthy.

  5. Not to freak you out, but most commonly used drugs list some pretty bad side effects. So you kinda have to take the info with a grain of salt.

    You have to weight benefits versus risk.

    Hugs to you!

  6. Margarita

    I did not have my period for 5 months either and it just started on the 5th! 🙂 Naturally, of course. I did not even bother telling my doctor about it. I think my body goes into this “period shut down” mode when my weight and BF% is below a ceratin point (for me it is below 17%).

    I got my period naturally back because of splurging too much on nut butters and not doing cardio… :-/ which concequently lead to a bit of fat and weight gain.

    I think you CAN bring your period back naturally. It takes time together with good eats (NOT the comp diet!! every time I go on a comp. diet I lose my period within 4-6 weeks).

    As far as your drug – like Tracy here said – every drug comes with the same type of ‘side effects”… even Tylenol. You have to try and see how it effects you. But it is YOUR choice whether to take it or not, no matter what we here advise you or your doctor.

    Hugs! 🙂

  7. April

    Yes I know that all drug companies put those warning on there. I’ve read that most girls start in 10 days and other in 12 days but I just don’t know.

    I use to think my period stopped when I got below a certain weight…115. Now i’m 118 with a good amount of healthy cushion aka fat on me so I don’t know what the deal is.

    I’ve NEVER been on birth control. I think that is why i’ve convinced myself that I don’t want kids. I don’t really know if I can conceive because of my accident when I was younger.

    Morgan nothing is ever TMI for me 🙂 Woohoo i’ll have to come and accept it!

  8. Hi, I just found your blog through Morgan’s. I actually just finished taking provera a few weeks ago. When I got off the birth control pill after 5 years, I didn’t get my period for 4 months. My hormones were normal, so I took provera, and 1 week later I got my period and now im back on the pill. I didn’t experience anything too weird. Sorry if it’s TMI.

  9. michelle

    Sorry I’m late to the party here, but you should really consider doing Natural Progesterone Cream INSTEAD of the provera. It’s much healthier for you. you take a much lower dose because you rub it on your skin and it absorbs into your bloodstream instead of having to process thru your liver. I’m happy to provide more info or resources if you want to email me. My period stopped too for a long time, like 18 months. My doc wanted me to take provera but I resisted. They didn’t even KNOW about nat. pro. cream!! I did a few rounds – maybe 4? – and my period is normal now without it. I used the cream from Arbonne.

    • Thanks Michelle! I still have the paper prescription. I just don’t feel like putting that junk in my body. I’m just trying to get healthy and get my TOM back that way.

  10. Marianne

    Just found your blog today!

    Have you looked into Prometrium? it is natural progesterone in pill form instead of Provera? Did the doctor check your estrogen?

    I bet your estrogen is too low to even cause the lining in your uterus to build up. I have this problem as well and the doctors love to blame it on my exercise regime (spinning/running addict) even though I am normal weight/bmi/% body fat for my height.

    Good luck from another hormonally challenged girl (hypothyroid and low estrogen!)

