Through the eyes of a Caterpillar

Do you ever have those days when you wonder why you are eating healthy and working out anyways?  When you take a step back you realize it’s to prevent medical conditions, look fit and to rock a bikini.  Okay the last one may be vain but i’ll admit it.  When I have days like this I take a step back and look at how far i’ve come.

First there was THIS.  I have so many excuses to give up.  YES, my legs and bones hurt.  What am I gonna do?  The stubborn person in me fights against it.  I’m so use to being in pain that I don’t need pain killers…it’s a part of my life.

 

People see me now and say how great I look, the ones that never knew me in the younger years would never believe I was a chubby person.  I even worked out then and ate “fat-free”.  Man, I miss those fat free Hostess cupcakes.  As you can see I ate them…alot.

Love 013

Then I lost a bit of weight when this man and I broke up.  Typical high school crap.  This picture though I had chubbed up a bit.  Man, why did I ever start highlighting my hair?

We were together for 7 years!  He was a cutie and a good person.

We were together for 7 years! He was a cutie and a good person.

Then I met this man.  Drinking and partying.  Oh man I love my lifestyle now.

Like the perm?

Like the perm?

Mike was SO skinny in that picture.  I fattened him up…yeah right.  I try.

 

Then I met this man.

Tony

He has changed my life more than he’ll ever know.  I’ve tried many diets, workouts and even BFL.  Until he showed me how to put it all together and what and what not to eat I hadn’t a clue.  I read this and that and had everything all mumbled together.  I followed every fad out there.  Not anymore.  I only follow what he plans for me with my own little twist.  Almond milk replaces creamer and chia seeds help me poop 😉

Thanks Tony!

Thanks Tony!

I’d be lying if I said this is me today.  This was a week out from my 2nd show.  I am at a good place though.  Although now i’m striving to achieve the above 😉  I will get there, i’m already feeling it.

17 Comments

  1. I love seeing old pictures like this! Isn’t it amazing how skinny you get before a comp…I look at my pictures and am amazed cause I never felt that thin when I was.

  2. You’ve come a long way girl! Looking Fab and congrats!

  3. WOW!! You went through so much at so young! Do you remember any of it? My heart was breaking for you as I read. 😦

  4. Love the glasses….and the perm 😉 You were still cute though!

    Yes Tony has made us see the light….i thought i was doing so well before…eating fat free and oh, all those carbs! Now i wonder why we couldn’t lose? I did have a subway sandwich on wheat bread and “baked” lays! Come on! LOL!

  5. EM

    Ohhh Ape, how I love thee. You are awesome!!! 🙂 🙂
    Thanks for sharing those pix! I love stories of how people find and maintain a healthy lifestyle! YAY!!

  6. ana

    I LOVE THIS POST!

  7. amazing transformation 🙂

  8. Wow amazing transformation! Thank you for sharing! Love your blog 🙂

  9. u rock! im a reformed chubby gal too who never gives up 😉
    i cant wait to compete for first time next weekend and post about my transformation too, thanks for the motivation.

  10. April….You have come such a long way girl. You ALWAYS inspire me with your dedication and persistence, especially when I feel like slacking. I take a peak at what you are doing and get up on it!

    You rock!

    Btw…I never knew that story about when you were 2.

    love ya~

    B

  11. Amazing pictures!

    I think I might have to dig through some of my old pictures. You might have had a redhead “chubby” twin with glasses. 😉

  12. April (Foods of April)

    I love the pictures! You were a cute kid!

  13. Tea

    Aww April I love this post! What a cute kid you were! I am a lot like you, I had everything so jumbled together and was so confused and was so happy to get with Tony so my brain could have a break! You look fantastic, I never realized you were in pain all the time, I am sorry to hear that 😦 Keep being awesome April 😉

  14. Jessica

    Wow! Amazing story. 🙂

    You need a shirt that says, Redheads are Survivors!!

  15. Amazing! I had no idea you had been through so much. You just seem like a petite girl who has been fit your whole life.

    Keep up the great work!

  16. Those pictures of you at 2 years old are heartbreaking. I cannot imagine what your parents must have gone through. Very scary. So glad you survived and look where you are now. AMAZING! Thanks for sharing.

  17. hayleycepeda

    Thank you so much for sharing this April – you are truly amazing and a real inspiration. I had no idea how much you’d been through…you’ve certainly come a long way. Do you still experience a lot of pain? You look pretty to me in all of your pictures…I LOVE your hair! Thanks again for being so open. 🙂

