Good Times and Muffins Are Finalized!

Wow, yesterday went by lickety split!  I HATE when that happens.  I was on the go all day long.  It was the good kind.  I got up, did an hour of cardio, showered and then ate and I was out the door for some sippy sippy at Starbucks.  I met with my old work buddy Amy.  We had lots to talk about because she just got back from her Vegas vacation.  This girl has a mind like a steel trap.  I swear she remembers everything!  I was starving afterwards, thank goodness I  had meal #2 packed with me.  Janetha, I totally ate in my car yesterday. 

 

After this I went and got some new kicks at the mall!  They’re Asics and I love them.  I have never had Asics before.  My feet feel like they’re walking on clouds.  I’ve been pepping up my legs and feet because this weekend is 8 weeks until the Kentucky Muscle Contest.  They’re going to working REALLY hard.  I also got a new pair of black Nike flip flops because mine are SO old.

 

Then it was back home to eat and digest.  I took Boomer for a quick walk and got back to do my chest workout.  After that I was off again to meet up with my other friend Amy.  We went and walked for a little over an hour.  I worked up a good sweat.  It was a great day!

 

I think i’ve perfected my protein muffins.

  • 1 scoop of protein powder, I used VPX Zero Carb
  • 1/2 scoop of waxy maize, could use 1/2 cup of oats instead
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 scoop of chia seeds
  • 1/8 tsp guar gum, don’t have to use this but makes more of a muffin texture
  • 1-2 egg whites or 1 whole egg
  • 1/3 cup of water
  • splash of vanilla
  • throw some cinnamon in because I love it
  • sliced almonds for some crunch, for added flavor toast them first

Mix dry ingredients well and then the wet ones.  Mix until batter forms.  I make 9  muffins but you can make however many you want.  The baking time will change of course.  I bake mine @ 350° for 5 minutes.

11 Comments

  1. Waxy maize, guar gum, and chia seeds! I only have the seeds, so I might do subs if I make this. I’ve never made protein muffins before 🙂

    • Hi Maggie! I’ve made them without guar gum and they are still tasty…just a different texture is all. When I first made the protein “cookie” I used oats instead of the waxy maize carb powder. Sorry there is no lettuce in these 😉

  2. April (Foods of April)

    What in the world is waxy maize??

    • Waxy Maize is a long-chain, complex, super-high molecular weight, sugar-free carbohydrate. Waxy Maize passes through the stomach much faster than any other carbohydrate source and in the process, delivers nutrients and protein to your muscles at lightning-fast speed! In fact, Waxy Maize has a molecular weight greater than maltodextrin and dextrose thus has the ability to move through the stomach faster than dextrose or maltodextrin!

      .

      DELIVER POST-WORKOUT NUTRIENTS FASTER THAN EVER BEFORE – MEANING FASTER RECOVERY!
      PRODUCE A NATURAL SURGE OF POST-WORKOUT INSULIN, THE MOST ANABOLIC HORMONE!
      SUPPORT EXTRAORDINARY MUSCLE FULLNESS!

      That’s why I mentioned using oats. Not everyone has a 5.9 lb tub of waxy maize lying around 😉

  3. Awesome muffins!

  4. lilveggiepatch

    Ooh, protein muffins! I love the sound of those… I’m flagging that recipe.

    I totally eat while I’m driving, too.

  5. Tressa

    what temp to bake?

    • 350…i’ll add that in the post! Thanks!

  6. julie

    work those protein muffins girl. they look AWESOME 🙂 mm mm

  7. peanutbutterfingers

    ooooh i’ll haveta try these – they look yummy!

  8. looks PERFECT!!!! want to try em…

