I’m So Excited!

I was seriously singing this song dancing around the kitchen this morning.  Why you ask?  Pumpkin in my oats!  Yes nothing too exciting but for me it is!  I keep seeing Apriluse pumpkin and it makes me drool everytime.  Especially this time of year.   So I sent my trainer a text and was waiting to get the no reply but hey it doesn’t hurt to try.  His text back…just a tad!  WHAT!  WOOHOO!  So I had to email her and ask her if she adds it in when cooking or after cooking.  Thanks for your help April because they were D to the E to the L-I-C-I-O-U-S!  So glad that song came out because that’s one of those words I use to misspell alot.

1/2 cup oats, 1 T pumpkin, cinnamon, stevia and pumpkin pie spice

1/2 cup oats, 1 T pumpkin, cinnamon, stevia and pumpkin pie spice

I “bulleted” my eggs before making because then come out fluffy 🙂

3 egg whites

3 egg whites

This got me thinking of a clean pumpkin pie recipe that I use to make.  The crust is the bomb by itself IMO.

Crust: 2.5 cups of oats finely chopped(use food processor or blender)
2 egg whites
3/4 cup Splenda
1/3 cup liquid I can’t believe it’s not butter spray.
Mix together well in a bowl and spread onto a greased pie pan.
Place in 425 oven for just 10 min.
remove.
Pie Filling: 1 can of Pumpkin Puree
1/3 cup splenda
1 scoop vanilla whey protein
1 egg white
2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
1 tbsp cinnamon.
Mix well and pour over pie crust Put back in 425 oven for 15 min and then reduce to 350 for about 25 min or until a knife comes out clean from the center……when cooled spread a thin layer of FF cool whip on top!!!

if you cut into 11 slices..they yield about…
82 calories
13 carbs
6 grams of protein
1 fat
3 fiber…………ENJOY!!!

 

Then Kelly got me thinking about this awesome soup I use to make.  Here is the recipe:

1-1 1/2lbs lean ground beef(cooked)
1 small head of cabbage(I used cole slaw mix already shredded)
3 small cans of low sodium chicken stock
2 cans of mixed veggies
1/2 cup orzo pasta
1/2 cup ketchup
1 can diced tomatoes
 
Simmer for 15 to 20 mins
 
It’s so easy and SO yummy!  The ingredient list looks like it would be bland but man, this soup is the bomb!  When I make it I get nothing but compliments.  I’m gonna have to bust it out for New Years this year.  I make cornbread to go with it.  Or beer bread…love that stuff! 

 

I weighed 119.2 again this morning.  I was happy with that because typically after a leg workout I am up in weight.  I may do some pictures this weekend.  It’s been awhile since i’ve taken those.  It’s also been awhile since I put those 5 inch hells heels on.

 

I’m excited they have the Beatles rock band now.  I think Rock Band has brought older music back to life.  Something the newer generations may have never heard.  Now you can see where music came from 🙂

 

What is your favorite song of all times?  Only 1 song.  Mine is True Colors by Cyndi Lauper

11 Comments

  1. OMG I just had had a glimpse of Jessie Spano…

    “I’m so excited…I’m so excited….I’m sooooo….SCARED!”

    Lol. Anywho I love me some pumpkin. I have made pumpkin pancakes before with 1/4 c pumpkin, 1/4 c oats, 1/4 c cottage cheese, 1/2 scoop protein powder and 3 egg whites. YUM!

    • Thanks for that…now I got the glimpse 😉

      Mmmm…that sounds awesome! I can’t have cottage cheese at the moment. I LOVE it though and will be trying that one for sure!

  2. Ok, I LOVE BEATLES ROCKBAND! I just played it with my mom (she is a little techy!) at her house for the first time last week. YEs, I agree, real music is from back then. I still like catchy poppy stuff, but my dad told me this when I was in HS and of course I rolled my eyes at him, but as I grew up I saw he was right:
    “You kids know the stuff I grew up on. Beach boys, Beatles – It was real music. Classic stuff, man. You think in 30 years when your kids are growing up that they will know who the Cranberries are??!”

    Ok, so my all time fav song from back then probably is gonna have to be “Take My Breath Away” from Berlin. The Jessica Simpson version isn’t bad, either actually.

    So he let you have pumpkin in your oats? 1 TBSP?
    WOW.

    Question about your pumpkin pie recipie. When you say “pumpkin puree” you mean just the plain canned pumpkin, not the libby’s mix?

    • That sounds like something my dad would have said! I hate when parents are right 😀

      I use the 100% pure pumpkin. I could not believe he said yes either. Of course when I make my muffins later you know i’m adding another TBSP LOL!

  3. haha i just said on april’s blog that i needed to pick up a can of pumpkin! i am seeing it everywhere and it is getting me in the mood for fall foods.

    LMAO at therese’s comment! i too have the glimpse now too! hahaha

  4. April (Foods of April)

    1 tbsp??? April your killing me!! haha. Well I’m glad you enjoyed it at least! 😀

    That pumpkin pie recipe sounds pretty fabulous and I think I’m going to make it. Ok I don’t think.. I am! Last year I made hungry girl’s pumpkin pie which is really similar to your recipe except the crust is made out of fiber cereal. It’s pretty delicious!

  5. thanks for the clean pumpkin pie recipe 🙂

    wow your oats sound delicious!

  6. lilveggiepatch

    I LOVE pumpkin in my oats! I eat it all year round… so delicious.

    It’s too hard for me to pick a favorite song! Sorry… Cyndi Lauper was at the 5K I ran a couple weeks ago and song the Star-Spangled Banner! Pretty cool.

  7. Tea

    ok I’m going to have to get me some pumnpkin and try this I can’t be all left out just cuz I’m over here dammit! Remember Boston? More then a feeling, Moody Blues, Nights in White Satin, Jefferson Airplanes White Rabbit .. thats my old music list. 😛

  8. peanutbutterfingers

    pumpkin in oats is phenomenal! i love pumpkin in any & everything! it’s sooooo tasty! your blog is awesome, by the way! i love it.

  9. LOVE LOVE LOVE the recipes. Thanks for sharing April! xoxo

