Buzz buzz

pollen

Bee Pollen *click on picture*

I suppose beepollen is best known as an energy supplement or “wonderfood.” It is certainly that. It is used by athletes worldwide for the sustained energy and endurance it gives. (I can personally attest to this even though I’m not a professional athlete.) It is also a rejuvenator or a tonic. It is also used to help assist in recovery from various illnesses. Some of the things bee pollen is used for are:

  • Helpful with skin eruptions and skin problems like eczema
  • Increases the libido
  • Balance the endocrine system with benefits in menstrual and prostate problems
  • Helps build blood
  • Reduce cravings for sugary foods and alcohol
  • Helps serve as a cancer cell inhibitor
  • Is a radiation protectant
  • It even helps for diaper rash although I’ve never heard of it being used this way personally

Some say the bulk of research isn’t available to support these conclusions. Well, to that I say, don’t believe everything the medical establishment tells you to. Think for yourself. I found this in an ezine I subscribe to. I think you’ll find it interesting when you think the medical establishment and Big Pharma have all the answers.

 

I use this because it tastes good!  The first time I tried it I thought it was nasty.  Now I can’t get enough of it.  It’s the only sweet thing I can have right now.  Here’s how I use it:

  • Salads
  • Shakes
  • Muffins
  • Chug the bottle
Nutrition Facts 

Calories in bee pollen 

 

  Serving Size: 1 tbsp 

Amount Per Serving
  Calories 45.0
  Total Fat 0.8 g
      Saturated Fat 0.0 g
      Polyunsaturated Fat 0.0 g
      Monounsaturated Fat 0.0 g
  Cholesterol 0.0 mg
  Sodium 30.0 mg
  Potassium 0.0 mg
  Total Carbohydrate 3.4 g
      Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
      Sugars 0.0 g
  Protein 3.5 g
 
  Vitamin A 0.0 %
  Vitamin B-12 0.0 %
  Vitamin B-6 2.5 %
  Vitamin C 15.0 %
  Vitamin D 0.0 %
  Vitamin E 0.0 %
  Calcium 0.0 %
  Copper 0.0 %
  Folate 2.5 %
  Iron 0.0 %
  Magnesium 0.0 %
  Manganese 0.0 %
  Niacin 0.0 %
  Pantothenic Acid     13.5 %
  Phosphorus     0.0 %
  Riboflavin 0.0 %
  Selenium 0.0 %
  Thiamin 0.0 %
  Zinc 0.0 %
10 Comments

  1. Julie

    What brand of Bee Pollen do you buy? I still dislike the taste of this, and I like everything. Seriously, I eat liver, oysters, you name it, I’m not a picky eater. I will continue to eat it, knowing how good it is for me. I think my best bet will be to put it into a green smoothie. That might be the best way for me to get it down. I’ve been mixing it in with my cottage cheese, and I practically have to hold my nose. That’s not enjoyable. The only brand I’ve been able to find at my store is Kelley’s 100% Natural Bee Pollen granules. Thanks for all your helpful info. I’m a faithful reader of your blog! Have a great weekend!

  2. Well! My first taste of bee pollen was yesterday and I loved it! I actually mixed it in with my egg whites and walden farms maple syrup as my last meal before bed and thought I kept getting whiffs of flowers and honey. It does taste like pollen, like when you smell a flower up too close, but it wasn’t bad. I am def. putting it in with my green monsters from now on I think, or maybe once I can have cottage cheese and greek yogurt again, I will.

    I bought 1 lbs of organic, locally grown bee pollen for 8.39 yesterday at my co-op. I am thinking that is pretty fair price, right?

    Thanks for turning me on to this Ap. You come up with the best stuff!! I think I have some followers that you don’t so I will prob. end up doing a review on it soon.

    I do feel particularly good today, esp. considering I am on day 4 of NO CARBS. not sure if it’s the bee pollen or the ACV drink!! Either way, I’m thanking you! WOO!!

  3. i am so glad i know how to clear up this damn diaper rash! thanks for the info on the pollen. sounds like it is the bee’s knees!

  4. I was just going to ask you more about that! I think I’m going to pick some up.. only 45 calories and all those minerals and vitamins and protein? It sounds great!

  5. ana

    im using tis too it makes my shakes yummy!!!

  6. I think I have to try this bee pollen stuff. Hmmm. In green smoothies?? You think? I’d love for it to help with this odd obscure skin condition I have of late. 😉

  7. wow! Thanks for introducing a rather untypical ingredient to us. I had no idea the nutrition stats of bee pollen!

Trackbacks

  1. Temptation: Failed « In the Skinny
  2. Don’t let me out! « The Weigh I Am
  3. Got a sweet tooth? « The Weigh I Am
