More Bread Please!

Back in the day when I started this blog, and my journey towards not being another chubby american, I came across Amyella’s blog.  I loved her writing style and hearing about her day to day life.  She was also a GENIUS in the kitchen.  I would have never known to microwave protein powder to make chocolate lava cakes etc… She now has a blog exclusively with her healthy recipes on it.  Here’s one of my favorites.  I haven’t made it in awhile but I may have to soon.  Macadamia nut oil is so yummy if you’ve never used it before.  I know you can get it from www.bodybuilding.com but they are usually out of stock so I get mine through www.nutritiongeeks.com .

This is really, really yummy fake bread. The consistency is sort of like corn bread, the flavor is nutty and bold like a whole grain bread. You bake it on a cookie sheet and cut it so that it comes out like sandwich bread slices. It’s just barely 1 gram of carb per serving and all of the very best, healthiest fats possible.

And it tastes amazing. At least try this, please! It’s so easy to make and if you don’t like it for some reason, invite me over and I’ll take the whole damn pan.

I can’t believe I don’t have to miss bread anymore. Holy crap, I might have a sandwich tomorrow!

Flaxseed “Bread”

2 cups flax seed meal
1 Tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1-2 Tablespoons Splenda, or to taste
5 beaten eggs (or equivalent using egg whites)
1/2 cup water
1/3 cup macadamia nut oil

Preheat oven to 350 F. Prepare cookie sheet with sprayed parchment paper or a silpat mat.

Mix dry ingredient, add wet to dry, and combine well. Let batter set for 2 to 3 minutes to thicken up some. Pour batter onto pan. Spread it in roughly a rectangle shape an inch. Bake for about 20 minutes.

Cool and cut into whatever size slices you want.

For 12 slices, each (using all egg whites):
194 calories
16 g fat (all from the flax and macadamia nut oil – super healthy!)
7.8 g carb
6.6 g fiber (making the net carb for these 1.2 g each, if you’re into that sort of thing)
6.8 g protein

9 Comments

  1. Oo this sounds cool. I’ve never had flax meal. I wonder if you could sub something else.

  2. I’m not sure? Flax meal is really yummy! You should try some 🙂 Wonder if you could use wheat bran…FIBER OVERLOAD LOL!

  3. I was just wondering what flax seed meal was too! Is it just ground flax? Hmmm…

    • Yes it’s really good too! I get mine at the local health store here. It’s usually in the refrigerated section. It’s nice to put on top of oats too!

  4. YUM! I have neverused or seen macademia nut oil before but it sounds great!!!

    • It really is! Unlike flax you can use it for cooking too. Also you can drink it straight for the bottle it’s so good HA!

  5. Mmm that sounds like my low carb bread but with a twist!! I should try making it with coconut oil!

  6. thanks for the recipe!!!

  7. i cant wait to make this!

