Who’s First?

I was in Kroger this afternoon.  I got 2 bags of brussel sprouts.  It looked at me, I looked at it, I walked away.

I thought I would do a little research.  If anyone tries the rutabaga let me know 😉

Rutabaga Nutrition
100 grams or 3 1/2 ounces

Nutrient Cooked Raw
Calories 39 36
Protein 1.3 g 1.2 g
Total Fat .6 g .6 g
% Calories from fat 5.1% 5.0%
Carbohydrates 8.7 g 8.1 g
Fiber 1.8 g 2.5 g

The rutabaga is a root vegetable that looks very much like a turnip with yellow-orange flesh and ridges at its neck. Although this beta carotene-rich vegetable has been grown and marketed in our country for nearly 200 years, it remains an uncommon food in American dining. It’s actually a great tasting vegetable with a delicate sweetness and flavor that hints of the light freshness of cabbage and turnip. With its easy preparation and versatility, great nutrition, and excellent flavor, the rutabaga can easily become an endearing family favorite.

Because rutabagas store so well, up to one month in the refrigerator and up to four months in commercial storage at 32 degrees, they are available year round. Planted in May and June, they’re harvested in late summer and early fall when their flavor is at its peak. Ideally, it’s best to shop for fresh rutabagas at farmer’s markets in early autumn.

.

I had a great time working yesterday.  I mainly vacuumed and can I tell you i’m sore!  It was 5.5 hours of not stop moving.  By the time we were done I was STARVING.  We got a call after our first house showing asking if they could do another at 6p-7p.  Since the house was cleaned up we said sure.  So I told Mike just to go to my mom’s and bring a salmon packet and bag of cole slaw mix for me 😀 

.

I got up at 4a this morning.  I decided to do Cathe’s Drill Max cardio only.  Can I tell you all how much better i’ve been feeling.  I’m back to early rising as well.  6:30a is NOT early for me.  I hope it continues.  I will have another appt in 5 weeks and then I should get some feedback on the bloodwork.

.

I met a friend at Starbucks and had the best coffee!  I ordered an americano but put some CLICK in it!  It was like a mocha latte YUMBALLS!!!(Thanks Barb)  So don’t forget to enter my giveaway for your chance to win a canister of CLICK!

.

After my chest workout I went to the gym for cardio.  I know that sounded weird huh?  I did an hour on the treadmill and Amy was on the elliptical.  When we are together we are in our own little world.  I hope the guy on the treadmill next to me couldn’t hear us HA!  Not that we care.  I can’t wait for my treadmill to be repaired.

I’m about to watch Lost!  YIPPEE!

.

Are you a Lost fan?  I’m so sad it’s going to be over with.

11 Comments

  1. Believe or not I have never watched LOST. I also have never had a rutabega. Scary world.

  2. I think it’s weird that the rutabega has more calories when cooked. How is that even possible?? LOL

    Tim and I are huge fans of Lost. Have you watched it from the very beginning? It’s a must. Not sure how people can just ‘jump in’ and start watching. ANywho we are not sure how they are going to pull this all together without any lose ends, and make it likeable. I think they jumped the shark a little while ago… your thoughts?

    • Yeah it’s not a show you just jump into that’s for sure. Mike still has to explain things to me LOL!

  3. I’ve never really watched LOST! I watched some last night and it was so weird, lol.

    Great workouts!
    ❤ jess
    xoxo

  4. not a lost watcher! I do someday want to rent the dvds though and watch the seasons!

    • That’s how Mike and I started watching. We rented the season a couple years ago one weekend and were hooked.

  5. I’ve never had a rutabega!

    I LOVED lost – i’ve watched it twice already!!!

  6. I have never seen one episode of Lost…crazy huh?

  7. Sylvia

    I JUST got rutabega ! I thought is WAS a turnip, just by another name. Looks so much the same. I put it in a soup and pureed it. I like the soup, but couldn’t tell ya what it tastesliek on its own. But I like turnips too. I just bought brussels sprouts yesterday, I wanna roast’em !

    I should post teh soup recipe on my blog.

  8. tearose1070

    April what is click?! and how do I enter your giveaway!, LOL your making me try new foods! :p

    • Go a couple posts down and leave some comments!

      It’s a mocha espresso protein powder and it’s SO GOOD!

