Cream of Tartar

I first started using cream of tartar when Genie made her meringues.  I had to try them.  Since then i’ve used it for a number of things.  Mainly with my egg whites in the morning.  I put a few sprinkles in and then blend them.  It helps to volumize my oats.  Secondly I use them in my protein pancakes.  2 egg whites, 1 scoop of whey, few sprinkles of COT, 1/2 tsp baking powsder, water for mixing,  fried up in coconut oil mmmm….It helps them to puff up.

.

Cream of tartar is best known in our kitchens for helping stabilize and give more volume to beaten egg whites. It is the acidic ingredient in some brands of baking powder. It is also used to produce a creamier texture in sugary desserts such as candy and frosting, because it inhibits the formation of crystals. It is used commercially in some soft drinks, candies, bakery products, gelatin desserts, and photography products. Cream of tartar can also be used to clean brass and copper cookware.

6 Comments

  1. i’ve always wondered about this!! thanks chica 🙂

  2. Just don’t add too much. Tastes like butt. LOL

    • What does butt taste like?

  3. I’ve never understood this! Thanks!

  4. I thought I had tried just about every spice! But i def missed this one!

  5. cool, I had no idea?! I’m going to have to try this on my own protein pancakes, fun!!

