A complete 180

Okay guys, i’m not sure who i’ve been turning into lately but I like her.  I have not stepped on a scale for fear that the old April would come back.  Mike and I had a great time at his post race celebration.  We went to Ted’s Montana Grill and I really enjoyed myself.  I had the house salad with a bison burger on it.  Mike order some chips and dip as an appetizer and I had a few of the chips as well.  I’m not a chip eater unless you’re talking tortilla chips.  These were real potato chips.  I didn’t feel bad at all. 

.

After dinner we walked to Whole Foods for dessert 🙂  We typically aren’t dessert eaters but i’m never NOT in the mood for this:

Trail-Mix_BananaChip_blog

When I got home I didn’t panic and get on the treadmill.  I figured I did a lot of walking around during the mini marathon so that was that.  What??  Me??  This morning I woke up feeling great.

.

My jeans are still loose but they do fit me.  I still look okay I think?

Same jeans a few days before a competition.  It’s nice being skinny but it’s NOT who I am.  I can run longer, faster, and have more muscle so i’m not complaining.  My diet has totally changed for good and that makes me happy.  I had a girl who I used to work with post a message to me on FB that she did her first 5K and thought I would be proud of her.  If people recognize me for being fit and healthy that is better than being know as someone who needs to eat a cheeseburger right?

I really feel like moving away from my “comfort” area and having trees in my yard has helped my psyche.  I want to give a shout out to Lisa way over in Oklahoma!  She has come the full 360 I believe.

.

Are there things in your past that you’ve overcome that you are proud of?  I have LOTS.  I’m nearing old lady age so i’ve had many years to corrupt myself 😉  I am proud I don’t take ephedra anymore(although that could be because I can’t get my hands on it).  I also don’t binge drink or drink at all.  What’s the point if you’re not going to get drunk?  Okay, I know many of you like wine so don’t answer that.

DON’T FORGET THE STRAWSOME GIVEAWAY!  ONLY A FEW MORE DAYS TO ENTER!!

22 Comments

  1. April that is awesome! I’m glad you’re happy, and yes you look GREAT!! Keep up the healthy attitude 🙂

  2. April, I am so happy for you! You are becoming comfortable in your own skin! You look GORGEOUS and you will only become happier when you embrace how beautiful you are! This was my favorite post from you! XOXOXO
    Barbara

  3. So happy for you! And you look absolutely gorgeous! I’m certainly still struggling a bit with my size at the moment.. even though I know it’s probably around the healthiest I’ve ever been.. it’s all a mind game!

  4. aw this makes me really happy. I know how you feel. THe little things, like eating a few potato chips can just feel life changing huh? It’s SO liberating. And heck yes, you still look great! There is more to life than being skinny–although, you still look amazing!

    Happiness is sexier than being miserable and skinny–trust me.

  5. Amy

    AWWW April 🙂

    I’m so proud of you!! You’ve found the balance. And you are beautiful no matter what your size (xxs, xs, or s) << Thats all you've ever been 🙂 I'm so glad the move has had a good impact on you..

    but, you're still gonna visit right?

  6. Hugs girl – so glad to hear that you’re starting to feel better and are enjoying life again with no guilt. Life is to short for feeling guilty over a potato chip or two. You look awesome and should be very proud.

    Oh, and definitely get Step Blast/Step Jump Pump. It’s worth the money!

  7. I think you look fabulous! You can’t sustain competition physique year round, it’s not healthy.

    Food should never equal guilt, ever. Once you stop equating food as good/bad/guilt, then it becomes just an enjoyable part of life.

  8. Yesyes! Eating a cheeseburger and having a jolly ole time is way more important than being in competition shape year round. You’re the only one who cares about having that body, everyone else in your life just wants a happy and healthy April!!

    I smoked for 6 years and haven’t touched the stuff in over 4. I still love the smell of second hand smoke, but that’s enough for me 🙂

  9. Weight obsessions can mess with your mind so much. That is HUGE that you are learning to separate yourself from that and just BE!!

  10. Yay April you are doing great!! This post was great for me because I’m struggling with the scale- it’s going up which I know is a good thing for muscle gain, but it still plays mind games!! You are a great role model 🙂

  11. What a great feeling…and you look GREAT!

  12. thank you for posting this! and HOORAY FOR THIS.

  13. reading this post made me get that song “im walking on sunshine…..whooo-oooh!” in my head….
    or something like that….
    girl, i am so proud of you for starting to see the REAL you come out,and for starting to finally be HAPPY with how you are looking and feeling about yourself!!!

    and btw catching up on the last few post,i so remeber when that pic of you and your mom was taken at the IN show…and your mom was SUCH a sweetie with you back stage! she was SO proud of you and it was written all in her face how much she loves you!!!

    a

  14. Oh honey, you look better than okay! You look AMAZING!!! I am so glad that you are happy. Food should not rule your life and sometimes it IS okay to endulge in the things you want. You don’t do it everyday so when you so it is 100% okay! Remember that! Remember how happy you feel today and carry that with you! I am so proud of you! Truly!

  15. You look great April! Better to be happy and fit than skinny and unhappy. Some day hope to get to that point in my life.

  16. Be good to yourself. It is about being healthy & strong & fit.. not so much emphasis on thin….

  17. Great post and uplifting to say the least. No one can or has to be perfect 100% of the time and all of us end up in the same place so I sau keep having fun and enjoy the ride 🙂

    And I want a cheeseburger….

  18. Margarita

    OMG! I am drooling over that dessert-trail-mix! YUM! This is SO me! 😉

    I am glad to hear you found your happy place! Don’t EVER leave it! 😀

    XOXO

  19. Steph

    very happy for you girl 🙂 i feel like this on some days which will hopefully become more often. im sure a lot of people would agree that the first pic is much nicer!!!

  20. April, you DO look awesome! Don’t even ‘think’, because you really really ARE! I’ve stopped weighing myself too even though there are days where I really feel like knowing the numbers. But I know that if the scale doesn’t show something I deem to be favourable, I’ll just be hating myself for it. I’m glad you are loving the you that you’re being right now, and I hope your self-love continues to grow!

    Much love,
    Nat xoxo

  21. one of your best posts, ever!

    april, truly, so happy for you!!!

    and i am proud of being a mother…i was the party girl, self absorbed who liked to drink and shop and do my own thing. not anymore..I am a giver and give selflessly. I am proud of that 🙂

  22. I’m so happy for you april! I feel like I’m coming around now too. I definitely used to be too skinny but after my weight gain, I feel “sexier” having boobs and a butt again. I still like the tone of muscles so that’s what I’m doing but I’m no longer trying to look like skin and bones.

    And yes, you do look okay. You look great! Happy and comfortable with yourself 🙂

