I wanna be a fwaggle!

Is there something that you used to HATE but now love?  In the past couple of months i’m digging radishes.

A radish is the root of a plant related closely to mustard, another surprisingly healthful plant. It’s generally used as a garnish or salad ingredient because of its mild-to-peppery flavor and unique red-and-white coloration, but it’s much more than just a garnish.

This plant comes in several varieties, though the most common in North America is the oval, red-skinned version. Look for the ones with unblemished and bright-colored skin, a firm and compact texture, and short, bright green leaves. You might also look for daikon, an oriental version that looks like a cross between a white carrot and a turnip. Regular radishes can be found in most grocery stores, while daikon is primarily sold in Oriental specialty markets. To store, break the leaves off, put the roots in a plastic bag, and keep refrigerated no more than a week. When you’re serving them, you can soak radish in ice water for an hour or two for extra crispness; or you can braise thin-sliced daikon in a bit of sesame oil and serve hot for an Oriental treat.

Ordinary radishes are a great source of vitamin C and are rich in minerals like sulphur, iron, and iodine. Daikon is even better, a source of vitamin C, potassium, magnesium, and folate as well as sulphur, iron, and iodine.

Radishes can be added to vegetable juice to spice up the flavor a little. In this form, they can help clear your sinus cavities and soothe your sore throat. The vitamin C in radishes is an antioxidant and anti-inflammatory, and has been shown to have a positive effect on asthma symptoms because of its anti-inflammatory properties. Potassium can help lower your risk of kidney stones and strokes, and radishes along a diet high in other fruits and vegetables can significantly lower your risk of multiple sclerosis.

Besides, the earthy-spicy flavor of radish, unlike any other vegetable, can bring out unexpected flavors in your meals. With no drawbacks, what’s not to like?

.

So now I can seriously be a Fraggle.

.

Are you an optimist or a pessimist?

I’m not sure what this was all about?

11 Comments

  1. Kathi

    How are you eating your radishes? I am loving the cabbage thing and I think my husband thinks I am obsessed with it since I have it every day. can’t seem to get enough of it? Is that wrong? 🙂

    • I buy them pre sliced and throw them in salads 🙂

  2. I like radishes, but they make me burp! Isn’t that funny?

    I used to hate (or never wanted to try) brussel sprouts. Now I love them!

    I am definitely an optimist. So much goes awry in my life that I have to view it positively or I would be seriously depressed LOL.

  3. intheskinny

    Down in Fraggle Rock!!!

  4. Loved the Fraggles!

  5. I am not a radish person but you have me rethinking! 🙂

    I am a confused pessimist & optimist.. I never know which will come out! Watch out! 🙂

  6. I loooooved Fraggle Rock! During high school there was a man that always did photography of the sports games for the local newspaper and reminded us all of the human!!! haha

  7. I love the city I live in – Portland, OR. Never a dull moment if you like being active – we’re a very running and biking friendly community. Great triathlon and hiking groups. Lots of parks and fun events going on at every turn.

    Radishes give me heartburn. But I love them anyway!

  8. That is cracking me up that Boomer only ate half his bowl! Not my dog no way no how would she leave a hint of anything left in there. I’ll often find her pushing her bowl across the floor trying to lick the very last powdery residue of anything remaining in there. Pig.

  9. too funny! I have TW0 480gram bags every day. I dip them into honey mustard. I include this in everyone of my posts. I buy 16 packs a week and eat 2 every morning (my coworkers think it’s so weird, but it’s finger food and easy to eat). Seriously, the people at the whole sale place I get them @ call me the ‘radish girl’lol

  10. Never liked radishes! Use to hate yogurt but love it now.

