A Friday off

I was up this morning at 4a.  Why?  I have no clue.  Maybe because I don’t have a job again!  I quit yesterday and I felt awful.  I’m not one of those people who hops from job to job.  The new job I start on Monday and it’s just an opportunity I can’t pass up.

.

When I was layed off I told Mike I just want a job where i’m not important.  I just go to work, do my thang and get out.  Not that those types of jobs aren’t important because without them the work wouldn’t be done but I think you know what i’m sayin’?  I really didn’t want to leave the people I had just met.  It was like I have known them for years and years.  Oh little town of Sheridan I will miss you and your DQ.  Not that I would have every went there but I think that was the only place in town.

.

So the new job will bring me some challenges.  What can I say?  I LIKE TO BE CHALLENGED AND STRESSED OUT!  I didn’t have a job for 16 months yet I always found something to fry my brain.  In a job situation i’m actual pretty chill.  You can’t tell i’m stressed because I don’t show it is what my boss used to tell me.  I am a redhead though so say something about my family and that’ll get me fired up.

.

So back to this morning.  I got up and did 44 mins of cardio.  I’m sitting here with sweat rolling down my back…ew!  It felt great to get a morning session in again.  I swear i’m in a better mood when that happens.  My hours were 6a-2:30p and now they will be 7a-4p with an hour lunch YAY!  Not to mention I can drive home at lunch since it’s about 8 mins away.  Although i’ll be using the swanky new gym 😉  Only if they have steppers or a stepmill.  I’m not an elliptical person and I have a treadmill at home but it only inclines to 10%.  So many things and options to think about…see, stressing and planning over nothing!!!!!

What is your job like?  Do you like what you do or is it just a job?  I guess i’ll find out Monday about this new one.  The one I had for 3 days was for sure just a job.

11 Comments

  1. Good luck on Monday 😀 I kind of like my job. I want to find something that’s related to my interests though.

  2. Good luck with the new place. I work in corporate debt trading which is super stressful and I hate it 😦 and my degree is in journalism so I’m not even doing something with that.

  3. I’m an actor who works at my father’s accounting firm, doing tax returns and all sorts of things I always said I wouldn’t do. I work his hours, don’t get home at night until about 7 pm and work 7 days a week until the wee hours from Feb to mid April. I’m paid well, and treated even better.

    But my husband and I have recently come to the conclusion that living to work is just DUMB.

    So we want to run away to a beach side town, have jobs instead of careers and just ENJOY life 🙂

    • We talk about that all the time too 🙂

  4. “Hello my name is Opportunity” really made me laugh. It’s not even that funny, but I sat at my desk and laughed. It’s Friday, I’m easily entertained I guess. Good luck with the job next week!

    And yes, I like my job!

    • I love making people laugh 🙂 I’m glad it worked LOL!

  5. I think you made the right decision. It sounds like it’s all going to work out for the best. I hear you on the red head tendency. I’m also a Scorpion with Italian blood 😉

  6. I have been out of work for a year. I miss it. I hate being home all day. I loved my old job but had to leave after 10 years because my husband got a job in another state.

    Anyway… I like to be in the thick of things. I like a high visibility job with lots of stuff going on. I have had jobs that were “just a job” and I hated them. Too boring for me.

    Good luck on Monday!!

  7. Good Luck April!

    I like my job and I’m thankful to have one!

  8. I had many jobs and even the “just a job” ones…i still took some of that home with me. I internalize everything so it’s hard not to.

    Currently: mother, wife, cook, cleaning lady, blogger, advice giver, confidant to hundreds, chef, errand runner, butt wiper, tear wiper, laundry do-er…and i do it all FOR FREE. Every.Single.Day. I work harder now than I ever did 4+ yrs ago when I was earning money!

    Good luck on the job!

  9. Good luck on the new job girl! You’ll love it!! 😉 I think you know about my work- I work for a social media agency in DC, we provide social media marketing and measurement services for Fortune 500 brands and a lot of Hollywood studios and such. In addition, I’m a blogger and independent social media strategist, meaning that I provide social media training/strategy direction for small businesses or individuals that aren’t on the scale of what my company provides. (they pay a lot less zeros per month that is!) I LOVE LOVE LOVE what I do and I work all the time. Also finishing my book on social media for business in my “spare time”. 😉

