The Deadline

I woke up this morning starving.  I can’t tell you the last time that has happened.  So what did I do?  Hopped on the treadmill of course for 63 minutes.  I loved Paulines’s post yesterday.  She admits she HAS to do lots of cardio to get lean.  We are all different.  There is a difference between being fit and being lean.  When I was in my early twenties and getting married all I had to do was 3 miles of cardio every other day and I was not even lifting heavy then.  I ate fish stick sandwiches and hamburger helper and got down to 115.  It’s MUCH harder to do that now.  As mentioned before I’ve NEVER been one to eat WHATEVER I wanted in life and stay thin.  In 2007 when I first decided to compete I had no clue what would happen to my body.  Everything worked like a well oiled machine.  My body didn’t know what was going on but responded very well.  I love my trainer because every prep has been different.  It keeps it exciting and I learn so much about my body.

Don’t Just Talk About It, Be About It!

 .

He was pleased with my pictures and I actually get more carbs!!  That typically doesn’t happen with  my type of body.  I actually like eating lower carb because I feel better on it.  I never eat bread or pasta anyway but love my oats 😀  I would eat bread if Julian Bakery didn’t charge an arm and leg for shipping.

I’m feeling good right now about the show.  Angela and I will decide if we are going to for sure do it this weekend.  I’m not doing it without her 😉  Some people may not understand that.  I’m not in this to win the overall, get a pro card or become a model.  I can’t compete with girls who have fake boobs and get diet pills prescribed from their doctors.  I’m in this for the friendships I have made.  It’s fun to meet up with a buddy from out of state, get naked, roll in tanner and wear no deodorant.  No really, tanning is the absolute WORST part of it!  I will NOT miss that one bit.  That or the ridiculous amount of money it costs 😉
.
Now i’m off to make dinner.  What are you having tonight? Fish and veggies for me.  Possibly a 1 minute muffin as well.  I’ll use black and red pepper instead of making it sweet and leave out the coconut oil. 
9 Comments

  1. I hope you decide to compete. Will you post your progress pics throughout the prep if you decide for sure?

  2. Show or no show i’m going to get to 110. I’m not stopping 🙂 I will post pictures before, mid and the finale!

  3. love your motivation!!

  4. You have serious motivation!! 🙂

  5. I love that you talk as I do about how we are all different. Even when I was young & lifted heavy, I still had to do quite a bit of cardio to stay lean. Now, in my older age, I have to do lots & up the intensity as well. Many talk about how they can do minimal cardio if they are lifting but every body is different so it is not always the case. I do hard core weights & did when I was younger & still have to do quite a bit of cardio to stay as lean as I want to.. OR I guess I could eat 1200-1400 calories a day & not wanting to eat that few calories… at least not now while I can still fight it!

    I am so with you on the Julian Bakery bread! Love it but so expensive!

  6. We’ve both had our ups and downs with our bodies, and I think it’s awesome to just plain flat out admit the issues we have because there are so many young girls out there I wish I could reach out to so that they avoid the eating disorders like I went through and just realize what you gotta do and what is the right thing to do. I was so uneducated when I was younger and felt totally out of control but after the 2007 competition I learned SO much about diet/nutrition/training that now, I know if I gain 10 lbs it’s an easy thing to plan out but I just gotta stick with it. I had totally unrealistic goals about weight then…sheesh! I think some girls who are new at competitions are also uneducated about things, I was. I gained WAY too much in my off season and it made it nearly impossible to lose weight when I needed to, but I took some time off from competing (so glad) because it was the only thing that would work… I had to seriously diet and train the entire off season time but now I’m right where I need to be to start prep. DON’T Start prep 12 weeks out, that’s crazy, you should, in some way, always be prepping…obviously not 70g of carbs per day type of prep but just thinking ahead and planning that strategy. You cannot gain over 20 lbs in an off season and lose it that easily… I had to tell myself to be REAListic…and once I was and have continued to be, I am in great shape. I also think that zero cheats during prep is unrealistic. Regardless of how many people yell at me for saying that, it’s true. Logic will tell you that. Actual science will tell you that. If you’re doing 8 weeks of serious contest prep and during that time you have two cheats, I promise you’ll look exactly the same regardless. It’s the daily cheating, nibbling, and other things that really mess you up. But two cheats in 8 weeks or so…yeah, not going to mess you up. I find it more tolerable to know I can have a cheat if I allow one and not even feel guilty about it at all. So, during my time off I’ve done a lot of educating and just learning that some things are unrealistic and I should just ignore them while others make sense and I need to pay more attention…So, this Spring 2011 I am definitely competing and it’ll be my best show EVER.

  7. Another thing I totally quit doing was picking out a picture of my favorite athlete and trying to achieve their ‘look.’ I know I have a great look, and I know (after looking at myself everyday in the mirror for years) what I need to change and what CAN be changed. I ignore the stuff I cannot change, and just work with what I can. It’s going to work out for me :o)

    You know what else is awesome? Seattle! My gym is a 5 minute walk away from our apartment!!! Holla.

  8. I agree with you, we are in this together 🙂 we have until this weekend to decide 🙂 And if its a go, i will be booking my flight 🙂

    I have the same outlook as you….not in it to win…just to hang 🙂 Which is the best part!!!!

  9. Good post! I read Pauline’s post yesterday too – just wish I had more time in the day to squeeze in those 10 milers on the treadmill! You rock!

    PS – Still have those pb/choc balls on my to do list – have not forgotten!

