Ups and Downs

Up:

Down:

 

Up:

Down:

Up:

Down:

Up and Down:

Up:

Down:

Okay, i’m sick of the ups and down.  I need to be realistic.  My body is healthy in the above picture.   There is no need to see bones and ribs although that is what I typically strive for.  I’m going to keep eating clean and running my heart out and not go overboard trying to get to a number that I CAN reach only to gain again.  THAT is my goal.

I am a professional dieter if there is such a thing.  Years of ups and downs is making it hard for me to stay at a consistent weight I believe.  What is my weight anyway?  Who cares.  I’ve been going by the way my clothes feel lately and they feel great!  I have my days where I feel “fluffy” but then I look around the office.  I’m pinching an inch while looking at rolls.  Okay that was wrong but i’m trying to tell myself there is no need to lose anymore.  All this talk is due to the fact that I ate trail mix yesterday.  No, today is my rest day so i’m not cardioing it off.  I did walk Boomer but that’s it.  I’ve got some YUMMY mexican chicken(will post recipe) ready for the Colts game.  I tasted it and I gave myself a pat on the back.  Then Mike tasted it and was smiling all happy.  Why haven’t I cooked chicken in the crockpot before? 

Do you have ups and downs in weight?  Do you think some people just have that sort of body type or what?

22 Comments

  1. ABSOLUTELY with you and i think you look GREAT in the bottom pic. I would be happy to look like that year round. Also, I think we are built very similar 🙂
    I think the same thing about the people in my office too. WUBS YOU

  2. You look good! I think stress can really affect our bodies and if you are happy now, embrace it! Enjoy your sexy physique! hehe.

  3. I think if you are happy, then just stay where you are. Unless you are competing, you really need to be able to be at a weight where you feel good *and* can stay without resorting to weird tactics to be there or obsessive thoughts.

    I think you look great!

  4. Kathi

    I was glad to see you post about this today! I have been struggling with the same stuff and have decided I want to LIVE.
    You have to remember you are “healthy” and that is a wonderful thing.

  5. Angela

    up or down…you are still as cute as can be 🙂

  6. I think there is such a thing as a professional dieter. I don’t do it as well as you but I have the same tendencies. You just need to find your “happy” weight and then you will know what number works best for you so you can stay there.

  7. You look great now 🙂

    Have you read “Intuitive Eating” or “Making Peace With Food”? I’m in the middle of both right now.

    • I haven’t but probably will sometime in my life. Let me know how you like them and if they help.

  8. I think you are looking fantastic Miss April! Coming from a figure background too i believe our self perception becomes completely whacked of what is ‘realistic and healthy’ to maintain and what we ‘want to look like’. SO i completely understand your feelings of not being ‘lean enough aka striving for ribs and bones’! Now that you are at your goal body maybe you should shift your focus so that you are training and eating to feel energized, vibrant, youthful and well. Thinking this way will put a positive spin on your attitude which is going to help you stay lean for life. By always focusing on the negative – ‘loss/losing’ can bring about feelings of deprivation which usually causes us to fall off the bandwagon hence yo-yo’ing!… Maintaining a lean body for the long term comes down to finding a happy balance between food, training and our mental state! 😉

    • Yep, I WILL find my balance!! Thanks! 🙂

  9. I think everyone has the ups and downs. I like your attitude now 🙂 Just right.

  10. Great post pretty lady! Ribs and bones are not good! It’s ironic, because I just wrote an entire post about the absurdity of the “Happy Weight” statement. You look really nice in all the pictures! You’re just a pretty girl no matter what!
    XOXO
    Barbara

  11. I’m so happy to see this post. This is something I can relate to as I struggle to find balance. The fact is, you look damn great! I know it’s hard to feel like you are stopping what you started in the middle of things, but striving for ribs and bones is not healthy nor sustainable. And not really attractive any way. Embrace your lovely self! I think this is a great sign and I’m looking forward to hearing more about your evolution 🙂

  12. love your positive attitude 🙂 oh yes I have had SUCH ups and downs, the important thing is getting to a place that you love and feel confident!

  13. UGH. So happy you wrote about this topic. I, too, have suffered from the “ups and downs” but I am trying to find balance. Being healthy. It is scary living in a society that floods us with unattainable expectations around every topic imaginable, especially on how much we should weigh. Like you said who cares? So long as we are happy. I think we need to embrace our imperfections (not that you have any, but we all definitely think that about OUR own bodies) and to recognize that we are enough — that we are worthy of love and belonging.

    xoxo

    ~ E

  14. You look GREAT! I do think that some bodies have a set point that their body likes to be at & to go below that takes a lot of work. For me, I work super hard to be the way I am & yes, age makes it harder , but it was always this way. I think my bod likes to stay at like 118-120 & it would be less work for me. but I feel better at this 115-116 weight.. for now. 🙂 I do allow myself treats here & there & my bread during the day so I am fine for now.

    For you, I think the up & down is worse than just maintaining at a comfortable & healthy weight.. which looks like you in that last pic! 🙂

  15. You’re beautiful up or down!
    I hope you know that!

  16. A

    I guess you can get to lows by using your brain to impose a diet that works- but the effort required is difficult to maintain that weight so it is “artificial”. I’m finding that instead I need to learn to eat in a way that will eventually become intuitive…I like Geneen Roth’s books. I will say one thing, I can’t believe how much brainspace I have to do things rather than obsess on how many calories I have eaten. A lot of intelligent people waste time with their obsession on controlling their weight- maybe we could devise a way for world peace instead! I will say, my weight has not gone up since I gave up counting calories nearly 2 months ago.

  17. i would say I am very lucky that once I found a comfortable weight I have stayed within 2lbs for the past 5 years. I would love to lose a few more, but I can easily maintain this weight while living a fully and happy life without crazy restrictions

Trackbacks

  1. Giving Thanks « The Weigh I Am
  2. Next Post « The Weigh I Am
  3. Oops I did it again « The Weigh I Am
