Randomness of a redhead

There is a Big Lots up here!  YIPPEE!!

.

I’ve been to Pier 1 Imports twice in the last 2 days.  That makes me realize I need a job!  Didn’t I say i’ve learned my lesson on how much money I used to waste?

 
 
Potted Artificial Wheat Grass

I bought 2 of those and 2 of these:

.

When do you take your vitamins?

Question
Does drinking coffee at the same time as taking a calcium supplement hinder the absorption of calcium? What are the guidelines/restrictions in taking calcium supplements with coffee?
 
Answer
It is well established that intake of caffeine causes calcium to be excreted. For every cup of coffee (equivalent to 150 mg of caffeine), approximately 5 mg of calcium is excreted in the urine. The research on the effects of caffeine on calcium absorption, however, is less conclusive at this time. When that is the case, we tend to err on the side of safety and advise avoiding the use of caffeine with calcium supplements. You may drink coffee at least half hour before or after you have taken your supplement. Don’t forget that caffeine is also found in many foods other than coffee such as cola drinks, tea, chocolate, and some cold medication.
 
What effect does caffeine consumption have on the absorption of vitamins and minerals?
 
Answer
Caffeine can increase the amount of calcium lost in the urine & feces. You can make up for the calcium lost by adding milk to your coffee or tea. Don’t forget that caffeine can also be found in cola drinks, chocolate, cocoa, and some cold & pain relief medication. Caffeine may reduce the absorption of some minerals, such as manganese, zinc, & copper, as well as vitamins such as vitamin A & B complex.

.

Moral of the story….try taking your vitamins at lunch to make sure it’s all absorbed properly!

.

I’m drinking coffee right now and it’s lunch time.  Guess i’ll wait until dinner.

.

I got a bird feeder at Meijer yesterday. The birds love it and they make me smile 🙂

Here’s a tip: Put lite coconut milk in your coffee…YUM!

 

Alyson put it on her pancakes so I figured why not try it in my coffee 🙂

.

Cook your fish in macadamia nut oil and it tastes almost like Long John Silvers! Minus the heartburn….

When I think of getting a cat scan I have to poop.

.

Boomer is afraid of this thunder.

.

Thanks for the suggestions on what to make Saturday.  One of Mike’s friends is bringing homemade salsa.  I think i’ll do that 7 layer dip. 

.

If you haven’t entered the strawesome giveaway you better hurry!  I’ll be picking a winner tonight and will annouce it tomorrow morning.

18 Comments

  1. I love Pier 1! I always want to buy all their cute seasonal dishes. I think I have a little obsession. hehe!

  2. I love pier 1 too – it’s actually on my list to go for a “cool orange/white branch” – they always meet my specific needs! 🙂

    Love the new greenery!

  3. I love Pier 1 and just realized that one of my $20 reward coupons expired. How sad. We have a dog terrified of storms – both the thunder and lightening scare him silly.

  4. Oh my gosh…Peir One is the bane of my existence!!! haha!

  5. Thx for all those vitamin tips!!! yes, be careful, so easy to spend too much!! 🙂

  6. Ugh, we used to waste A LOT of money! When Mallard and I were newly engaged, we went out to dinner and ordered alcoholic drinks 3 times a week. We also went to breakfast at least once a week. We spent so much money on eating out alone. We never eat out now and we are just as happy lol

  7. i knew that about vitamins.. but here’s one more for you, most calcium in calc supps is the “wrong kind” that your body really struggles to absorb. I have blogged about this kind which is much more absorbable.
    http://www.loveveggiesandyoga.com/2010/01/calm-yourself-with-natural-supplements.html

    and also here about plant based sources of calcium.
    http://www.loveveggiesandyoga.com/2010/03/dairy-faqs-allergies-calcium-myths.html
    i feel awful for link dropping. sorry girl.

    • No need to be sorry! WordPress made me approve the comment though 😉

  8. Who can resist spending money in a nice place like Pier 1? I spend so much on random things, too. And don’t even get me started on Costco and Whole Foods. 🙂

    What about drinking diet coke AND vitamins together?

    • Good question! It just mentions that coffee is bad and nothing else??

  9. Lmao @ the when you think of the cat scan thought. And I love Big Lots and the fact you never know what you’re going to find….but all of ours are in ghetto which kinda suck b.c I don’t want a cap in my a$$ when all I’m trying to do is buy discount plates!

  10. you should slice a cucumber nice and thin and use it as a chip for dipping into salsa!! yummo!!1

  11. liked the randomness…
    my dog barks if there is a lot of thunder.
    I spend too much money at Archivers and when I go to Pier1 I always smell all the candles

  12. Whats up very cool site!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your blog and take the feeds alsoI am happy to find numerous useful info here in the post, we’d like develop more techniques in this regard, thank you for sharing. . . . . .

  13. gsgKCL ios that american ?

  14. The way with virtually per area of life, communication is significant.
    When there is no plan , preparation, your excellent ratio will largely drop.

  15. When someone writes an post he/she keeps the idea of a user in his/her mind that how a user can understand it. Therefore that’s why this post is great. Thanks!|

  16. Just want to say your article is as surprising.
    The clearness in your post is just spectacular and i can assume you are an expert
    on this subject. Well with your permission let me to grab your feed to keep up
    to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please continue
    the rewarding work.